Time to Act: Call Education Committees to Push Data Bill NOW!

With the news that our Data Bill has been “birthed”, it’s time to get on the phones!!  The bill has been referred to the House Education Policy and House Education Finance committees.  Let’s start with the House Ed Committees this week!  We need EVERYONE calling!

Here’s a script you may use.  Please do change it a little or a lot.

SCRIPT: ” Hello Representative ____________, (or the Rep’s Legislative Assistant)

My call is in reference to Bill HF 2766, a bill for an act relating to education.  This bill is Chief authored by Rep. Jason Isaacson and originated by Rep. Jim Abeler.

I am calling (or writing) to inform you of my concerns with data collection and how that data is leaving our state for the Tri-State Consortium.  And now, we find that various School Boards are revising their Policy Manuals to allow data to fly directly to the federal government and without parental consent.  We are opposed to this action and wish to protect our childrens’ and families’ personal information.

Secondly, I am very concerned with the Common Core Standards; that these standards may not be high enough; and a loss of local control when the standards are held in copyright by two trade organizations (the CCSSO and NGA).  HF 2766 maintains the integrity of our state academic standards and our state educational autonomy.  I do not want to see local control given away to either the federal government or any corporate entity.

And lastly, the bill gives parents the opportunity to opt out of data collection when data becomes personally identifiable.  Understand, this is not an issue for me.  This is about my children and my children’s future.  I strongly encourage you to read the bill, support it and to co-author.  I will be calling back within the week to find out your position on this bill.  Thank you for your time!”

Here are the names, phone numbers and e-mails for the House Ed Committees.

Education Policy
Membership 2013 – 2014

Meets: Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10 a.m. in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building.

Representative Carlos Mariani Committee ChairCarlos Mariani (DFL)
381 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9714
E-mail: rep.carlos.mariani@house.mn
Representative Sondra Erickson Republican LeadSondra Erickson (R)
209 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-6746
E-mail: rep.sondra.erickson@house.mn
Representative Mark Anderson
Mark Anderson (R)

327 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4293
E-mail: rep.mark.anderson@house.mn
Representative Bob Barrett
Bob Barrett (R)

287 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5377
E-mail: rep.bob.barrett@house.mn
Representative John Benson
John Benson (DFL)

417 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9934
E-mail: rep.john.benson@house.mn
Representative David Bly
David Bly (DFL)

559 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0171
E-mail: rep.david.bly@house.mn
Representative Jim Davnie
Jim Davnie (DFL)

445 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0173
E-mail: rep.jim.davnie@house.mn
Representative Roger Erickson
Roger Erickson (DFL)

527 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4265
E-mail: rep.roger.erickson@house.mn
Representative Tim Faust
Tim Faust (DFL)

567 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0518
E-mail: rep.tim.faust@house.mn
Representative Jason Isaacson
Jason Isaacson (DFL)

545 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-7153
E-mail: rep.jason.isaacson@house.mn
Representative Debra Kiel
Debra Kiel (R)

337 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5091
E-mail: rep.deb.kiel@house.mn
Representative Ron Kresha
Ron Kresha (R)

329 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4247
E-mail: rep.ron.kresha@house.mn
Representative Ernie Leidiger
Ernie Leidiger (R)

317 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4282
E-mail: rep.ernie.leidiger@house.mn
Representative Paul Marquart
Paul Marquart (DFL)

597 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-6829
E-mail: rep.paul.marquart@house.mn
Representative Will Morgan
Will Morgan (DFL)

401 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5387
E-mail: rep.will.morgan@house.mn
Representative Bud Nornes
Bud Nornes (R)

273 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4946
E-mail: rep.bud.nornes@house.mn
Representative Mary Sawatzky
Mary Sawatzky (DFL)

433 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-6206
E-mail: rep.mary.sawatzky@house.mn
Representative Dean Urdahl
Dean Urdahl (R)

253 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4344
E-mail: rep.dean.urdahl@house.mn
Representative Anna Wills
Anna Wills (R)

225 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4306
E-mail: rep.anna.wills@house.mn
Representative Barb Yarusso
Barb Yarusso (DFL)

507 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0141
E-mail: rep.barb.yarusso@house.mn

Here is information on the House Education Finance Committee.

Education Finance
Membership 2013 – 2014

Meets: Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays at 8:15 a.m. in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

Representative Paul Marquart Committee Chair

Paul Marquart (DFL)
597 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-6829
E-mail: rep.paul.marquart@house.mn

Representative Linda Slocum Vice Chair

Linda Slocum (DFL)
415 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-7158
E-mail: rep.linda.slocum@house.mn

Representative Kelby Woodard Republican Lead

Kelby Woodard (R)
221 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-7065
E-mail: rep.kelby.woodard@house.mn

Representative Tom Anzelc
Tom Anzelc (DFL)

517 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4936
E-mail: rep.tom.anzelc@house.mn
Representative Connie Bernardy
Connie Bernardy (DFL)

581 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5510
E-mail: rep.connie.bernardy@house.mn
Representative Kathy Brynaert
Kathy Brynaert (DFL)

569 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-3248
E-mail: rep.kathy.brynaert@house.mn
Representative Jim Davnie
Jim Davnie (DFL)

445 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-0173
E-mail: rep.jim.davnie@house.mn
Representative Sondra Erickson
Sondra Erickson (R)

209 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-6746
E-mail: rep.sondra.erickson@house.mn
Representative Glenn Gruenhagen
Glenn Gruenhagen (R)

241 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4229
E-mail: rep.glenn.gruenhagen@house.mn
Representative Jerry Hertaus
Jerry Hertaus (R)

315 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9188
E-mail: rep.jerry.hertaus@house.mn
Representative Carlos Mariani
Carlos Mariani (DFL)

381 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9714
E-mail: rep.carlos.mariani@house.mn
Representative Joe McDonald
Joe McDonald (R)

291 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4336
E-mail: rep.joe.mcdonald@house.mn
Representative Rena Moran
Rena Moran (DFL)

413 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5158
E-mail: rep.rena.moran@house.mn
Representative Will Morgan
Will Morgan (DFL)

401 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5387
E-mail: rep.will.morgan@house.mn
Representative Pam Myhra
Pam Myhra (R)

217 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4212
E-mail: rep.pam.myhra@house.mn
Representative Jerry Newton
Jerry Newton (DFL)

575 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-5369
E-mail: rep.jerry.newton@house.mn
Representative Duane Quam
Duane Quam (R)

323 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-9236
E-mail: rep.duane.quam@house.mn
Representative Joe Radinovich
Joe Radinovich (DFL)

529 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-2365
E-mail: rep.joe.radinovich@house.mn
Representative Yvonne Selcer
Yvonne Selcer (DFL)

523 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-3964
E-mail: rep.yvonne.selcer@house.mn
Representative Anna Wills
Anna Wills (R)

225 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4306
E-mail: rep.anna.wills@house.mn
Representative Lyndon Carlson Sr. ex-officio Lyndon Carlson Sr. (DFL)
479 State Office Building
100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St Paul, MN 55155
651-296-4255
E-mail: rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s